118th CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNT!

The BBC encourages members to participate in the 118th Christmas Bird Count, which will take place from December 14, 2017, through January 5, 2018. It is administrated by the National Audubon Society. Thirty-four count circles are located entirely or partly within Massachusetts. Count dates confirmed as of press time are listed below. Changes can occur, however, and participants should contact the count compiler at least a week in advance. Please contact Dave Williams @ dave.williams6@gmail.com with any updates to this list.

 

Thursday, December 14, 2018

 Sturbridge: Mark Lynch moa.lynch@verizon.net

snow/ice storm date the following day

 

 Saturday, December 16, 2018

 Andover: Donna Cooper donna.j.cooper@gmail.com

Athol: Dave Small dave@dhsmall.net (978) 413-1772

Quincy: Glenn d’Entremont gdentremont1@comcast.net  (781) 344-5857

Springfield: George C. Kingston gcking@yahoo.com

Worcester: John Liller john.liller@worcesteracademy.org

Central Berkshire   Holly Higinbotham (684-3724, higinbo@hotmail.com)
and Ann Connors (442-4332, cool48cats@gmail.com)

North Berkshire  Leslie Reed-Evans – lre@wrlf.org

Millis: Elissa Landre elandre@massaudubon.org

New Bedford: Michael Boucher britmm@juno.com

 

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Cape Ann: Jim Berry jim.berry3@verizon.net

Greater Boston: Robert Stymeist bobstymeist@gmail.com

Northampton: Janice Jorgensen and Jan Ortiz   cbc@hampshirebirdclub.org

Groton-Oxbow: Julie Lisk julielisk@gmail.com

 

Saturday, December 23, 2017

Cobble Mountain (Westfield): Seth Kellogg  skhawk@comcast.net

Newburyport: Tom Young tomyoungnh@gmail.com

 

Friday, December 29, 2017

Martha’s Vineyard: Luanne Johnson  luannej@biodiversityworksmv.Org

 

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Concord: Norman Levey http://www.concordcbc.org

Taunton/Middleboro: James Sweeney  assawompsett@yahoo.com

Quabbin: Scott Surner ssurner@aol.com    (413) 256-5438

Uxbridge: Strickland Wheelock skwheelock@yahoo.com

Marshfield: Sue MacCallum  smaccallum@massaudubon.com   (781) 837-9400

 

 Sunday, December 31, 2017

 Nantucket: Ken Blackshaw kenandcindy1@comcast.net

(508) 238-0209 and Edy Ray ackbird@aol.com (meeting the

night before)

Greenfield: Mark Fairbrother bogelfin@crocker.com  (413) 367-2695

 

Monday, January 1, 2018

 South Berkshire  Rene Wendell

 

Thursday, January 4, 2018

Westminster: Charles Caron caronenv@aol.com

 

Unknown Dates

Buzzard’s Bay: Peter Trimble merlin0426@comcast.net

Cape Cod: Blair Nikula odenews@odenews.org

Mid-Cape Cod: Peter Trimble merlin0426@comcast.net  and Jeremiah Trimble

Newport County, RI/Westport, MA: Robert Emerson

remerson@duffysweeney.com   (401) 455-0700

 

 

Plymouth: Trevor Lloyd-Evans tlloyd-evans@manomet.org

(508) 224-6521

Stellwagen Bank: Simon Perkins sperkins@noticenature.net

Tuckernuck: Richard Veit veitrr2003@yahoo.com

Truro: Mark Faherty msfaherty@yahoo.com

 

 

 

2017-11-22T08:29:24+00:00